1. People & Relationships
Cathy Meyer

Emotional Stages of Divorce: What Stage Are You In?

By January 25, 2013

Follow me on:

Grieving the end of a marriage is much like grieving the death of a family member or friend.  If you want to come through the process emotionally and physically healthy it is necessary to allow yourself to mourn the loss.

Elisabeth Kubler-Ross, author of On Death and Dying writes that the emotional stages of grief are, "responses to loss that many people have, but there is not a typical response to loss as there is no typical loss. Our grief is as individual as our lives."

Divorce is not unusual in today's society; it would seem to be a typical step for many who are dealing with marital problems.  Don't allow the fact that divorce has become commonplace mislead you into believing that you won't grieve or shouldn't allow yourself to work through the process of grieving. Doing so means being able to move onto a healthier, happier life post-divorce.

January 31, 2013 at 8:32 am
(1) linda says:

Hello, same here!

Leave a Comment

Line and paragraph breaks are automatic. Some HTML allowed: <a href="" title="">, <b>, <i>, <strike>

©2014 About.com. All rights reserved.